question

cartellonegerardo avatar image
cartellonegerardo asked

Understanding pricing model and looking for a small scale indie dev option

I looked at the servers prices on this page:

https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/gaming/playfab/features/multiplayer/servers/multiplayer-servers-detailed-price-sheet

I'm a started to server tech so I'm maybe getting things wrong.I read the pages where you explain how the pricing works but I still was quite confused.

You have server instances types based in different regions if I understand correctly if a player connects to my server from somewhere away from the region I chose I have to pay extra "egress" cost which depend on how much data is transferred and how many different players connect daily. Do I obligatorily need to choose a region or is there a way to have a sort of more global option?

Also if for example if I pick a US east A1v2 1 vCpu linux the price is 0.0473/h so running this constantly 31 days a month will cost me 750*0.0473$ = 35.5$/month.And maybe more because of the connections away from USA east which I guess are most of them since I guess my game won't be targeting usa east specifically. So are my getting this right or are my way off.

I'm an indi dev so I would be lucky if my game makes more then 35.5$ a month currently i'm just supposing it won't make any money so i really need to go for the cheapest options .Any good suggestion for my situations would be highly appreciated. I feel like I have maybe some options that are pretty cheap with AWS Ec2 servers but they don't come with all the extra services such as matchmaking and authentications maybe there is a way I could have my EC2 server check if players are authenticated using playfab before authorizing players to do things?

Also maybe I don't even need a server. Here I asked a question a while ago explaining all the services that i need. .

https://community.playfab.com/questions/61364/i-need-to-store-player-data-and-i-need-something-t.html