question

Dylan Hunt avatar image
Dylan Hunt asked

How would I go about inviting a friend to a party? The notification of invite? Push only for mobile?

I have Photon and Steam. For example, if I want to send a person an invite to my party, how would I go about doing this for a PC game?

Here's what I have in my head:

Option A:

1. If I have their Playfab ID, could I have a custom info called like "pendingInvite" and make it null by default -- check every 15 seconds or so while at least 1 friend is online.
  2. Since there's no invite push call for PC that I know of (is there?), I should probably make a cloud code function to invite a friend. I could change pendingInvite = the player's playfab ID (I'm not good with cloud code yet, but I think I can do this).
  3. So when that 15 second check triggers and it's not null, pop up "you got an invite!" and clear it back to null.

Is there a better way of doing this, like with the PlayStream? Anything "pushy" for PC?

Option B:

1. When I want to invite someone, I'll get their Steam ID from PlayFab FriendInfo.
  2. I'll then use Steamworks to push a game invite via Steamworks.
  3. SteamWorks event stream will pick it up and it'll ask for an invite via Steam (and I could show something in-game). If they accept, the original person's steamworks event stream will let them know they accepted - and I already have their info thanks to FriendInfo.

Then....... not quite sure how to both join the same room. Perhaps:

Player2 would get another FriendInfo call and keep doing it until the Player1.PhotonRoomNumber (or whatever it's called) is not null, or after x failed attempts.

Push NotificationsFriends
10 |1200

Up to 2 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 512.0 KiB each and 1.0 MiB total.

Joshua Strunk avatar image
Joshua Strunk answered

I would note that relying on push notifications for mobile is only really a hack anyway, not a solid solution.