question

Cadrick Loh avatar image
Cadrick Loh asked

How to use player's statistic and leaderboard?

First of all I would like to mention that I'm totally new to PlayFab and I found PlayFab doc is very confusing.

I'm using PlayFab Unity SDK and it has very little sample codes on C# teaching how to use PlayFab. When I go to the API documentation, all I see are those REST codes (I assume). 

So what I've done so far is only managed to Login. After that I have no ideas what can I do and how should I do in order to submit score to leaderboard.

I even noticed there are 3 types of API and they all looks the same to me, I didn't know which one should I use:

- UpdatePlayerStatisticsRequest

- UpdateCharacterStatisticsRequest

- UpdateUserStatisticsRequest

I couldn't find out where is the documentation talk about the differences between Player, Character, and User.

Assuming I'll be using UpdatePlayerStatisticsRequest,

so what should I do? How should the codes look like?

UpdatePlayerStatisticsRequest request = new UpdatePlayerStatisticsRequest()
{
    StatisticName = "Kill",
     Value = score
};

That's syntax error. I don't even know how does PlayFab codes should look like.

PS: I'm coming from Parse and they did a great job on their documentation by explaining every single of their API in details with sample codes. I do hope you guys can improve your doc in the future. Now I even noticed there's no way to highlight codes in this editor.

10 |1200

Up to 2 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 512.0 KiB each and 1.0 MiB total.

brendan avatar image
brendan answered

Correct - all our service API calls are REST at the base, with the SDKs providing wrappers around that to provide HTTP and JSON functionality. So the REST documentation applies to all our SDKs, and the call patterns are the same throughout - all the SDKs have the same method names and parameters.

For statistics specifically: