question

Daniel Kiefer avatar image
Daniel Kiefer asked

Cross Device Sync How To?

Hello, 

so i am pretty new to playfab but i am having a bit of a problem with the cross device setup.

Users like to start playing a game as a guest (LoginWithCustomID) and later they may switch to Facebook (LoginWithFacebook) and back again. 

Now the the Api lets me link a Facebook account, which is ok, but then will only work on that certain device, if a user switches to playing on his iPad i am getting a different CustomID and then i cannot link to Facebook because it is already linked to it.

So i was thinking that the easiest way would be to logout from the CustomID and then do the LoginWithFacebook but unfortunately there is no such thing as a logout in your API.

So am i missing something here or is the API just not build for that kind of thing? Or is there any kind of workaround for that kind of thing?

10 |1200

Up to 2 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 512.0 KiB each and 1.0 MiB total.

brendan avatar image
brendan answered

Correct, though the normal behavior is to create an account with one of the various login/register methods, then link other authentication systems to it, so that no matter how/where the player signs in, he gets to the same account, with the same data. That way, your save data is as portable as possible, and you can always associate the events/behaviors for a specific user to that one account.

10 |1200

Up to 2 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 512.0 KiB each and 1.0 MiB total.

Daniel Kiefer answered

Ok, so i just checked out that if you did a login with LoginWithCustomID and after that make a call with LoginWithFacebook i get a new Facebook User. And vice versa. this is perfect and even simpler.

10 |1200

Daniel Kiefer answered

But then the question is which is the main account.