question

Mark avatar image
Mark asked

Accurate PlayFabGameServer Instructions

I am a newbie trying to follow an example to connect to PlayFab and interact with the web site. This is the second example that has not worked due to inaccurate or misunderstood ReadMe files.

I am trying to follow the README.TXT in the PlayFabGameServer example (https://github.com/PlayFab/PlayFabGameServer). In the "A quick setup step before I forget to tell you" (https://github.com/PlayFab/PlayFabGameServer#a-quick-setup-step-before-i-forget-to-tell-you), it says "Locate the GameServerContext and expand it down. Then Click on PlayFabServerManager."

I cannot locate this. What am I missing?

p.s. "To do this, open up the StartUp scene in the StartUpScene folder." is also inaccurate, as there is NO folder titled "StartUpScene". There IS GameServerClientExample/Scenes folder. There is only one file, StartupScene. Maybe the wording could be made less ambiguous.

game manager
10 |1200

Up to 2 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 512.0 KiB each and 1.0 MiB total.

ryancoastek avatar image
ryancoastek answered

If you have imported the package into unity and accessed the StartUpScene, you will see that in the hierarchy panel contains an empty gameobject named "GameServerContext". If you expand that gameobject you will see it has three children, one being the "PlayFabServerManager". That is where the readme is alluding to.

I may be mistaken, but I do not think you actually need to manually add the titleid. The command attached to the ServerManager actually grabs it from command line parameters and sets it automatically.

2 comments
10 |1200

Up to 2 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 512.0 KiB each and 1.0 MiB total.

Mark avatar image Mark commented ·

On my imported package, the hierarchy contains 4 items: Main Camera, ClientExampleGameObject, Canvas and EventSystem. Canvas is the only item that has children.