question

overcokedproductions avatar image
overcokedproductions asked

Is it possible to have a Master Server to allow cross-platform multiplayer?

Hi,

I just signed up. I'm not a programmer, I've been taking a look at the documentation and some tutorials but I lack the experience to understand what they say.

I'm making a game with Unreal Engine 4 and I want to know if I can create some kind of Master Server with Playfab so people can search for available games.

People will host their games so I don't really need a completely new Online Subsystem just a way to make server browsing possible.

This way I could allow people play each other even with different systems.

Thanks in advance.

10 |1200

Up to 2 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 512.0 KiB each and 1.0 MiB total.

1 Answer

·
brendan avatar image
brendan answered

First, if players will be hosting their own game servers, it's important to note that those servers must not have any ability to call into the Server API set. To do so requires the Secret Key - which you do not ever want to have in the hands of anyone outside your team, as it allows them to make any calls they want to in the Server and Admin API sets. In other words, they could basically delete everything about your game.

So the client-hosted version of your server would use Client API calls, and make calls into Cloud Script occasionally for server authority when needed - like evaluating the points reported at the end of a level, for example.