question

Kevin Beqo avatar image
Kevin Beqo asked

UE4 - Matchmaking and Connection to Server

Hello,

I have implemented PlayFab's Matchmaking system and have deployed a build on a PlayFab server.
I use server allocation in matchmaking and my thought process is to connect clients using the IP:PORT returned in the response of the GetMatch request.

Matchmaking is implemented client-side and is functional (via BP) but my issue is that I cannot connect to the server via the returned IP:PORT. The server does become Active after a match is found.

By "cannot connect", I mean that there is a connection timeout. I am not experienced in this; I did a ping to the server's IP but I still get a timeout. (not sure if related)

Checked a lot of posts but have not found a solution yet so sorry if I have missed something.

unrealMatchmaking
1 comment
10 |1200

Up to 2 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 512.0 KiB each and 1.0 MiB total.

Benjamin Ikes avatar image Benjamin Ikes commented ·

Hey I have the same problem in Unity3D will keep you updated if I find a solution

1 Like 1 ·
Kevin Beqo avatar image
Kevin Beqo answered

Ok I managed to fix it.

Assuming you have tested successfully using the LocalMultiplayerAgent:

I had configured my build to run as a Windows Process; and unfortunately I still don't have a fix for this but I created a new build as a Windows Container.

And basically that was it, I could connect in-game using a basic open IP:PORT. What I noticed though, was that when I chose Windows Container, a section of Ports was opened in the build configuration form. So I could input there the port name AND number (which was missing in the Windows Process option). Most likely this made the difference since afterwards the mapping of the 30000 (first layer port) could be done to the actual game port (in UE4 case 7777)

2 comments
10 |1200

Up to 2 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 512.0 KiB each and 1.0 MiB total.