question

Faithful David avatar image
Faithful David asked

,PlayFab Cloudscript using azure functions,

Hi,

I'm new to playfab and azure functions.

I'm trying to create an azure function app for my game and trying to test it locally. So far, I've been able to create the app using visual studio 2019 but getting it to work locally has been a pain in the ass.

I followed a tutorial on GitHub https://github.com/PlayFab/PlayFab-Samples to setup the local debugging environment. I've added the ExecuteFunction.cs class to the root of the project. I'm suppose to add CS2AFHelperClasses.cs somewhere in the project? I'm not sure where or why.

I managed to get it to barely work and when I tested it, I noticed something: I cannot use a struct as function parameter or my function parameter (class) must not contain a struct else it'll throw an exception. Is this normal?

Also I'm not sure how to go about writing the functions. I can't find any sort of template online and the default one that comes when you create a new project seems to be for Asp.Net style. Can anybody help?

10 |1200

Up to 2 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 512.0 KiB each and 1.0 MiB total.

onedevapp avatar image
onedevapp answered

ExecueFunction.cs and CS2AFHelperClasses.cs are two different classes for two different purposes.

"Should I remove the ExecueFunction.cs class from the project? I thought that was what will help me to test locally?" - Yes, ExecueFunction.cs will help u test locally and u need to add the same in the root folder of your Function App.

"it is highly recommended to import CS2AFHelperClasses.cs because it does handle the function request, with parameter." - Yes, CS2AFHelperClasses.cs is like a wrapper class for shared context model and u need to add the same in the root folder of your Function App.

One can achieve the Function App with or without the CS2AFHelperClasses.cs.

• Hello World Example with CS2AFHelperClasses.cs