question

Steffan avatar image
Steffan asked

Concerned about Entity security

Hello!

I've been using the Classic Playfab API's for a few years now and they have served me perfectly fine, but now I want to dip my toes into Entities and Groups for a new use case that I cannot solve with the classic api's alone.

In my game I make use of the Friendlist system so people can add each other as friends. I used to do this on a title player account level, but recently I've implemented Characters so that players can have multiple characters per account.

Since the Friendlist system doesn't operate on a Character level, I've taken to using Entity Groups to make my own friendlist system, but after tinkering around with Entities for a bit I have some security concerns.

Below is my cloudscript function for creating a player's first character which also creates the Friend group on that character at the same time:

var CreateCharacter = function (args: any, context: IPlayFabContext): PlayFabServerModels.GrantCharacterToUserResult {
	let characterResult = server.GrantCharacterToUser({
		PlayFabId: currentPlayerId,
		CharacterName: args.username,
		CharacterType: "Character"
	});
	let entityKey = {
		"Id": characterResult.CharacterId,
		"Type": "character"
	};
	let apiResult = entity.CreateGroup({
		Entity: entityKey,
		GroupName: "Friends"
	});
	return characterResult;
}
handlers["CreateCharacter"] = CreateCharacter;

This works fine. The character gets created and it has a Friends group. Now if my understanding is correct, for any future Entity cloudscript calls, I will use "ExecuteEntityCloudScript" from within my C# client code, and I will need to pass the player's CharacterId as the EntityId for that call, like so:

PlayFab.CloudScriptModels.EntityKey entity = new PlayFab.CloudScriptModels.EntityKey();
entity.Id = MyCharacter.CharacterId;
entity.Type = "character";