question

doelbaum avatar image
doelbaum asked

What is the best way to implement a simple overflow-style server?

Hey everyone,

I am very new to PlayFab and am looking for advice.

I am building a virtual experience with Unity and am trying to create a very simple multiplayer implementation. In this virtual experience, there are a lot of user-created "maps" which can be viewed/played by (hopefully) 50 players at once.

The rules for multiplayer implementation are as follows:

1) Someone selects a map (e.g. Map X).

2) If there are multiplayer instances of Map X already running, which have LESS than 50 players, join one of those instances.

3) If there are no instances of Map X already running OR every running instance is full, create a new instance.

My question is: what is the best way to implement this? I have read about matchmaking and I feel like I could possibly wrangle it to fit what I am trying to do here but I feel like there is a cleaner, simpler way that I don't know about.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated!!

multiplayerMatchmaking
10 |1200

Up to 2 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 512.0 KiB each and 1.0 MiB total.

1 Answer

·
Seth Du avatar image
Seth Du answered

Ideally, you will need to have an external Database Server to cache the “Maps” and servers information. What’s running inside of server build won’t be exposed to PlayFab directly.

In terms of Matchmaking, the matching lifecycle ends when the tickets are matched, and if auto-allocation is enabled, the server instances will be initialized. After that, to join a running session, the server should actively create backfill tickets. I am not sure of if “Map X” is UGC or pre-defined name, but I believe you can let the players matchmake queue and only create a new server instance when waiting too long.

4 comments
10 |1200

Up to 2 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 512.0 KiB each and 1.0 MiB total.