question

Trevor Godley avatar image
Trevor Godley asked

Is the minimum monthly cost $145 to use dedicated servers?

I am on the free tier, and I'm a novice developer, developing a very small multiplayer game starting with around 10 players and I'm hoping to grow from there. As a result, My server requirements are very minimal, but even with all server settings turned to the minimum (Dasv4 2 cores, 1 standby server, max 1 active server) it seems like my monthly costs will be ~$145/month (2 cores * 31 days * 24 hours = 1488 core hours - 750 free hours = 738 hours * $0.1965/hour = $145). I accidentally left my testing server on and was slapped with a $100 bill right off the bat.

Am I missing something? If not, that is prohibitively expensive, and disappointing from a company that brands itself as being for games of every size.

multiplayer
10 |1200

Up to 2 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 512.0 KiB each and 1.0 MiB total.

1 Answer

·
JayZuo avatar image
JayZuo answered

For the 750 free hours, it is core hours. When calculating, you will put the cores into count. But when estimating cost, you do not need to multiply the cores as different instances already have different price. For example, when using Windows system, the price of D2asv4 is $0.1965/hour, while for D4asv4 is $0.3929/hour.

In your example, the cost will be (31 days * 24 hours -750/2 free hours) * $0.1965/hour ≈ $72.5.

To reduce the cost, I'd suggest you shut down your sever when there is not enough player. Also, you can consider only open the server in a specific period (e.g. 8:00 PM - 2:00 AM) and in other time, set the standby server and max server to zero to control the cost.

2 comments
10 |1200

Up to 2 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 512.0 KiB each and 1.0 MiB total.

Trevor Godley avatar image Trevor Godley commented ·