question

Michael E Ortiz avatar image
Michael E Ortiz asked

How many bytes is in my User Data Request?

unity3d
1 comment
10 |1200

Up to 2 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 512.0 KiB each and 1.0 MiB total.

Michael E Ortiz avatar image Michael E Ortiz commented ·

More specifically, I am using Unity to send a Dictionary<string,string> data variable as a UpdateUserDataRequest. I am interested in knowing how many bytes this variable will be. I am just learning about metered pricing weighted by 1KB, so I am trying to optimize/limit my byte usage as this impacts the pricing. I have made some keys using JSON, so there are a good amount of fields in just one or two keys. Now I am thinking that may be an issue, because too much data is in one key and it "Costs" too much to update that key when only one or two fields are updated in that key. I am thinking I need to create more keys that have less information, so they "Cost" less to update since their byte size will be lower, is what I am now thinking.

0 Likes 0 ·
Michael E Ortiz answered

I've been researching this all day. Looks like the above example would be 65 bytes. The payloads sent to PlayFab will be encoded using UTF-8. As long as you stick to ASCII characters, each character in your key value will represent 1 byte. So all you have to do is add up all your characters to determine your payload size.