question

Michael Flanagan avatar image
Michael Flanagan asked

Newbie: converting existing game and game server into Playfab,Newbie: can I do asset management? How to integrate with existing game server?

I'm new to PlayFab. I see that PlayFab has some great services that I'd like to use. I have some questions about integrating PlayFab into my existing infrastructure.

I have a game that has some digital assets that the player can earn, or be awarded, and can exchange those assets for other in-game digital assets. I also have a game server (a node.js app) that the game talks to. The game server provides authentication (signup, login), tracks the level the player has achieved, saves game state, and manages the digital assets.

1. Can I have my game talking to both servers, that is, my existing game server and PlayFab? I suppose I can, but should I? Can PlayFab do everything for me that my current game server does? (How can you answer unless you know what my game server does...read on.)
  2. How do I manage my digital assets for my gamers? I see PlayFab lets me set up an economy, virtual currency, and also items. Are those the PlayFab features (tools) to use to implement asset management? Or does PF do it some other way? Or is that something my game server needs to handle?
  3. From the docs I'm assuming that I'll need the gamer(s) to authenticate with PlayFab, otherwise my game won't be able to make API calls to PlayFab. Is that correct? If so, should I convert my game & game server to let PF do all authentication?
  4. If I want to transition to letting PF handle all auth (login), is there an easy way to upload my current set of gamer credentials?
  5. What if I want to allow the gamer to buy some "real" items outside the game, paying for it using digital in-game assets. Perhaps, buy a t-shirt (a real one, not-in-game) for 50 coins earned in the game. Does PF let me do this?
game manager
10 |1200