question

Jeff Orkin avatar image
Jeff Orkin asked

Segment integration not showing data

I'm just getting started with Segment, but was surprised that my initial steps did not produce any data in the Segment debugger. I wanted to be sure I'm not doing anything wrong.

Here is what I did:
1. Setup a segment account, and copied the Write Key into my PlayFab settings.
2. Used the REST API from Python to login with PlayFab, like this:
values = {
'TitleId': PLAYFAB_TITLE_ID,
'Username': username,
'Password': password
}
r = requests.post( PLAYFAB_URL_CLIENT + '/LoginWithPlayFab', json=values )

This call succeeds in logging me into PlayFab, and returns a session ticket, but when I look in the Segment debugger, nothing came through. Based on the PlayFab blog post about Segment, I expected to see login events get tracked, and see something happen immediately in the Segment debugger.

What am I doing wrong?
Thanks!

10 |1200

Up to 2 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 512.0 KiB each and 1.0 MiB total.

brendan avatar image
brendan answered

Could you check to see if the events are now available via Segment? One thing to be aware of is that the ingestion of event data into Segment does take upwards of an hour, so events are not available immediately after they are sent.

10 |1200

Up to 2 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 512.0 KiB each and 1.0 MiB total.

Jeff Orkin avatar image
Jeff Orkin answered

Thanks Brendan -- nope, days later there is still no data showing up in Segment. I tested a few logins last Wednesday, and the PlayFab API calls worked fine, but nothing was transmitted to Segment. Let me know if I should I investigate the issue directly with Segment.

10 |1200

brendan avatar image
brendan answered

Thanks, Jeff - I don't see any issues in the data flow currently, but I'll double-check this with the engineering team, to be sure.

10 |1200

Jeff Orkin avatar image
Jeff Orkin answered

Hi Brendan,