question

Big Daddy avatar image
Big Daddy asked

A little confused about clients joining the game server instances.

I'm new to Playfab and have been reading docs to see if Playfab will be good for my multiplayer project. I want to under these 3 things clearly.

(1) If I'm hosting my server build on any non-Azure servers (For eg. Digital Ocean for this case), when the Playfab Matchmaking result is successful, how can I start the game server instance running on the Digital Ocean server and connect the players to it? Is it possible to do this with non-Azure servers? If possible, can someone explain me generally how to achieve this?

(2) If I'm hosting my game on Azure server, according to the docs, if I set ServerAllocationEnabled to true in config panel, the game instance will start automatically on the server right? How can I pass extra data (for eg. Player Rank, achievements) to the game instance running?

(3) How can I extend game backend service using Playfab? For eg. Playfab dont have player achievements system, how can I write my own player achievement system using Playfab?

sdksMatchmaking
10 |1200

Up to 2 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 512.0 KiB each and 1.0 MiB total.

1 Answer

·
Sarah Zhang avatar image
Sarah Zhang answered

>> how can I start the game server instance running on the Digital Ocean server and connect the players to it? Is it possible to do this with non-Azure servers? If possible, can someone explain me generally how to achieve this?