question

Benoit MIRA avatar image
Benoit MIRA asked

Hosting Rest API Playfab

Hello,

I recently discover PlayFab and I have some questions about what can it does.
I want to create a REST Api and I would like to know if PlayFab can Host a custom REST API.
I watched some videos to deploy a server using Unity, but I just want to create a simple REST server.
I searched online and the forum (and I think I miss something, I am new to multiplayer game) and didn't find an answer to my questions.
For what I understand, PlayFab can manage the authentication, some security and other services, but do I need to do something special to upload a project which will be accessible with a user who will send some REST request ?
For the project I work on, I just want to make a management game so no need for UDP or speed. It will be one request --> one response (maybe some websocket I don't know).
Is PlayFab made for that too ?
If yes, can I create a simple C# Project to, after, upload the project to PlayFab and host a server ?
Do I need to work on Azure only ?

Thank you for your answer.
Have a nice day

apisCustom Game Servers
10 |1200

Up to 2 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 512.0 KiB each and 1.0 MiB total.

1 Answer

·
Rick Chen avatar image
Rick Chen answered

I don’t think the multiplayer server is good for hosting your custom REST server. The PlayFab multiplayer server is designed for session-based multiplayer games. And it may not be a good solution for the long lasting REST API server. The PlayFab itself is a complete backend platform for live games with managed game services, real-time analytics, and LiveOps. There are plenty APIs available for different services in PlayFab. You could learn more about PlayFab in this document: https://docs.microsoft.com/en-gb/gaming/playfab/what-is-playfab.

If you still want to host your custom Rest API, please look for other service solution.

2 comments
10 |1200