question

justin-1 avatar image
justin-1 asked

[Unity3D] How to retrieve SessionId on Multiplayer Server after Matchmaking succeeded?

I'm pretty new to hosting multiplayer games on dedicated servers. I've been trying to figure out how to use PlayFab Matchmaking to launch a Multiplayer Server. Our multiplayer game is using Photon Bolt with Unity3D. Once the server is launched, I want to use the SessionId from PlayFab Matchmaking to start a Photon Bolt session with the same session ID. The clients can then use the returned MatchId from PlayFab to join the correct Photon Bolt session.

My main question is: how do I retrieve the SessionId (and InitialPlayers and PreferredRegions) on the server? I tried using the event PlayFabMultiplayerAgentAPI.OnSessionConfigUpdateEvent, but everything inside the SessionConfig callback is always null. Also, the callback is sometimes called twice, which is not what I want.

unity3dmultiplayerMatchmaking
10 |1200

Up to 2 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 512.0 KiB each and 1.0 MiB total.

justin-1 avatar image
justin-1 answered

I figured out what went wrong. I was using this Photon Bolt tutorial with PlayFab Servers as a base.

But you need to make an important change for matchmaking to work. In PlayFabHeadlessServer.cs, you need to remove the following lines in Start():

// Run Bolt Server
OnServerActive();

These lines caused my server to immediately launch instead of waiting for the callback of PlayFab.

2 comments
10 |1200

Up to 2 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 512.0 KiB each and 1.0 MiB total.

justin-1 avatar image justin-1 commented ·

The session/match ID can then be retrieved after the 'PlayFabMultiplayerAgentAPI.OnServerActiveCallback' event is called with the following code:

string sessionId = PlayFabMultiplayerAgentAPI.GetConfigSettings()[PlayFabMultiplayerAgentAPI.SessionIdKey];