question

b avatar image
b asked

RequestMultiplayerServer - NoHostsAvailableInRegion and backfill tickets

I am new to working with playfab and I uploaded my first server.exe (created with unity) and it works.
Now I noticed that the first player-client can search for an available server using RequestMultiplayerServer.

But this will already return NoHostsAvailableInRegion for the next player that tries to connect.
What I read from this forum suggest that I need to create a backfill ticket so the server will wait for more players. Is that the right way to do it?

I am asking because for me this workflow seems strange.
Because every game will have more than one player so I wonder why RequestMultiplayerServer works the way it does.

Maybe I should approach the whole "how clients connect to a server" concept differently?

10 |1200

Up to 2 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 512.0 KiB each and 1.0 MiB total.

b avatar image
b answered

Thanks for your help.

I build my own solution which does the following

• ping all PlayFab server locations (all regions where you uploaded your server to)
    and get the one with the best ping
  • if no server is active at that location, get one out of standby
  • if one is active, check if there is still room for some more players.
    If so connect to it. If not get another server out of standby

I wrote a guide for other people who might search for a solution for unity 3D.

https://jarc.xida.net/2021/04/06/playfab-multiplayer/

1 comment
10 |1200

Up to 2 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 512.0 KiB each and 1.0 MiB total.

Rick Chen avatar image Rick Chen ♦ commented ·

I am glad that you have built your own solution. And thanks for your effort in writing a guide.

0 Likes 0 ·
Rick Chen avatar image
Rick Chen answered