question

Martin Rivers avatar image
Martin Rivers asked

,Advice on how to get preferred player Region for Matchmaking in Unity

Hi,

I've been struggling find a specific example on how to get the latency for the QoS Servers available for the title using Unity.

I have no experienced in networking and using UDP sockets, but I've attempted to follow the guidance in https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/gaming/playfab/features/multiplayer/servers/using-qos-beacons-to-measure-player-latency-to-azure with no success.

I did managed to integrate the C# QoS example from the link into a Unity project but it ended up throwing an NotSupportedException when attempting to DoPost.

Originally I was hoping there was an out of the box API in Playfab that would do this rather than having everyone who wants to use Matchmaking have to implement their own latency check.

I've searched and not found much detail on simple implementation (it doesn't help that I don't really know what I should be looking for) so thought I'd ask on here if anyone could point me at a resource/tutorial I could follow to help me implement something so I can get the latency from the QoS servers for my title.

10 |1200

Up to 2 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 512.0 KiB each and 1.0 MiB total.

1 Answer

·
Seth Du avatar image
Seth Du answered

Currently, there is no out-of-box solution in Unity SDK. We have the C# sample on https://github.com/PlayFab/gsdkSamples/tree/master/WindowsRunnerCSharp/WindowsRunnerCSharpClient and PlayFab have created PlayFabQosApi.cpp to help developers measure QoS. I am not sure how you get not supported error, can you provide any code snippet? It is correct to import C# sample to Unity, but there should be modification on the codes to make it work. Please feel free to send a thread on Feature Request forum.

2 comments
10 |1200

Up to 2 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 512.0 KiB each and 1.0 MiB total.