question

Andrea Tomei avatar image
Andrea Tomei asked

Ethereum integration and custom microservices

Hello, I'm developing a multiplayer game made in UE4 that needs to interact with the Ethereum blockchain. Since I'm new at backend development I can't figure out if I need to make a backend from scratch or I can use Playfab as a base.

What I need in particular is:

1) Making Playfab interact with an external application (maybe located on an Azure VM). That application would be an Ethereum node.

2) Extends Playfab functionalities with microservices tailored to my needs (e.g. a system that manage the association of equipments to each character, or another system that tracks the progression and the quests, etc.). I can't figure out how far I can go with the customizations.

Thanks for any help

10 |1200

Up to 2 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 512.0 KiB each and 1.0 MiB total.

brendan avatar image
brendan answered

You can use Azure Functions Cloud Script or hosted custom game servers to interact with any external service, as well as add any custom functionality you need. The caution I would give with Cloud Script is that it is time-limited in synchronous execution, so if the responses are not within one second, you'll want to use queued functions, so that they can run for several minutes if needed.

10 |1200

Up to 2 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 512.0 KiB each and 1.0 MiB total.

Seth Du avatar image
Seth Du answered

As far as I can see from your description, PlayFab should meet your requirement. For Q2, PlayFab is able to maintain the equipment, inventory items and characters. You may store the progression and quests in many methods on PlayFab. For the commerce, you may refer to: https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/gaming/playfab/features/commerce/. In terms of Player’s data, you may check: https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/gaming/playfab/features/data/