question

Anant Sharma avatar image
Anant Sharma asked

Guidance for cheat prevention

Hi all I'm developing a third person arena shooter for mobile I'm a single dev and it's impossible for me to setup a dedicated server I rely solely on cloud script for cheat prevention In my game I need an effective and efficient way to prevent users from modifying weapons data and make the weapons over powered For speed hacks, one shot kills and collider hacks I'm relying solely on report system (user submitted reports) But it's impossible to for users to know if another player increases the weapon damage or fire rate or range slightly making the weapon better than its suppose to be Now i can simply send weapon name and the shooters playfab id from the Clint who's shot as cloud script parameters upon every hit detection And calculate in cloudscript that if the shooter have that weapon unlocked and if yes then calculate the damage according to a table of variables which contain damage value of all the weapons But the problem is that one Clint can call cloudscript only 5 times in 1 second and a user can get shot well over 5 times in one second because it's a fast paced shooter And if i call cloudscript at fixed intervals for example once every second and send all the weapons hit by and the player id's and number of times hit by. Then Clint can easily modify the source code and make the shot counts lesser and even remove some players entirely causing them to receive little or no damage. Now i know cloudscript aren't meant to behave like dedicated servers but i belive amongst all the great minds here, one can suggest me a clever way to prevent weapon modifications from users while staying withing the limits of cloudscripts Cloudscript calls are my only chance to prevent cheaters from ruining the fairness. Please help a fellow indie dev Any suggestion or guidance would be very much appreciated Thanks ❤️

10 |1200