question

Jacob Grodman avatar image
Jacob Grodman asked

Cloudscript CreateSharedGroup return

So I'm very new to cloudscript and javascript, so there are probably issues with this code, but I can't get it to return a value. I've tweaked every single line.

The scripting API for CreateSharedGroup says that it has a string return value, but I can't get a this function to return anything but null or a null reference exception.

I really just need a straightforward example of server.CreateSharedGroup, but I can't find one.

public void CreateMatchSharedGroup()
    {
        PlayFabClientAPI.ExecuteCloudScript(new ExecuteCloudScriptRequest()
        {
            FunctionName = "CreateSGD",
            FunctionParameter = false
        },
        OnGroupCreationSuccess, CreateSGDError);
    }

// Create SGD for new match
	handlers.CreateSGD = function (args){
	    var createdGame = server.CreateSharedGroup();
	    return createdGame;
	};

public void OnGroupCreationSuccess(ExecuteCloudScriptResult result)
    {
   	var data = JSON.Parse(result.FunctionResult.ToString());
    	print(data);
    }

10 |1200

Up to 2 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 512.0 KiB each and 1.0 MiB total.

1 Answer

·
Seth Du avatar image
Seth Du answered

The CreateSGD function you wrote will produce this error: (I am using RESTful testing tool Postman)

"Error": {
    "Error": "JavascriptException",
    "Message": "JavascriptException",
    "StackTrace": "Error: The best overloaded method match for 'PlayFab.LogicServer.Source.PlayFabAPI.api_request(string, string, string)' has some invalid arguments\n    at HostDelegate.<anonymous> (<anonymous>)\n    at Object.server_request (Script:153:41)\n    at Object.server.CreateSharedGroup (Script:509:74)\n    at handlers.CreateSGD (5AFBD-main.js:35:31)\n    at Object.invokeFunction (Script:116:33)"
}

The root cause is there is no request input for CreateSharedGroup API call on line14: