question

klfw91 avatar image
klfw91 asked

Multiplayer Costs vs Firebase

Hello,

I am a new developer and I have been making my game with Playfab. I am at the stage where I want to implement matchmaching and multiplayer but I am concerned with the cost. My game is just a two player turn based card game where a game would last about 10 minutes. Looking at the cost example in the documentation.

If I had 30 minutes per user per day, that would be 900 minutes per user per month.

If I had 100,000 users, that would be 90000000 minutes divided by 2 for the users per session.

So 450000000 minutes, packing 3 servers on a 2-core D2_v2 = 15000000 minutes

Which equals 250000 VM hours x $0.252 = $63,000? Is this how the pricing works?

Alternatively, I have seen videos of people build matchmaking on Firebases' realtime datebase which I assume would not have such a cost.

Please let me know if I have made any incorrect assumptions, and suggestions on what the best way to make my game would be?

Thanks

Matchmaking
1 comment
10 |1200

Up to 2 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 512.0 KiB each and 1.0 MiB total.

appgame avatar image appgame commented ·

90,000,000 minutes divided by 2 = 45,000,000 & Not your 450,000,000

Best not to assume you have $450,000 & you only having $45,000 to pay your $63,000 Bill.

0 Likes 0 ·
brendan avatar image
brendan answered

Specifically, the cost is the per-hour cost for the machine type, charged on a per-minute basis. So if you run an A2v2 for 30 minutes, it would be half the hourly cost for the region, based on the publicly available hourly cost (which is currently $0.09 for a Linux server of that type, or $0.13 for Windows, per this page: https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/gaming/playfab/features/multiplayer/servers/multiplayer-servers-detailed-price-sheet).