question

ibrahimaboelsuod@gmail.com avatar image
ibrahimaboelsuod@gmail.com asked

How to terminate game server/game session?

I am new to playfab, still figuring stuff out.

• I am using unreal + the playfab plugin.
  • Using matched making and mateched 2 players together and tried to connect them to a server.
  • Then I had a few problems that I am still debugging but during the debug process I created different game servers and now can't create any more.
  • As far as I understand my game shoudl signal game conclusion at some point.
    1- How to signal game conclusion so the server can shutdown? I used this guide in my setup: https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/gaming/playfab/features/multiplayer/servers/playfabgsdk_guide
    2- How to terminate the currently running game/server/session?
    3- Also is it normal if I remote control inside the VM and not find my game server running?
    I am new to doker too.
10 |1200

Up to 2 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 512.0 KiB each and 1.0 MiB total.

1 Answer

·
Seth Du avatar image
Seth Du answered

In the common scenario, the process should be done internally on the server instance. The “signal” should be the game process is finished and all the required information has been updated and logged, then the server may use some codes like Application.Quit() in Unity. I assume it will be _Exit() in C++ (I am not very familiar with C++).

To shut down the server externally, PlayFab also provide an API ShutdownMultiplayerServer.

In terms the 3rd question, I believe we will be able to monitor any running server instance in Game Manager. Please navigate to [Multiplayer] -> [Servers] -> [Servers] and remember to select corresponding server build and region to review those instances.

3 comments
10 |1200

Up to 2 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 512.0 KiB each and 1.0 MiB total.

ibrahimaboelsuod@gmail.com avatar image ibrahimaboelsuod@gmail.com commented ·