question

mwillows avatar image
mwillows asked

Querying user data using a group from leaderboards and running in to API limits

We're building out an asynchronous PVP system in which a player can attack another player of a similar power range. So I've set up a system in which our game has a leaderboard that tracks a player's power. This works great. I have a Cloudscript call "GetOpponent()", which gets the nearest 20 players around the player and returns one randomly to attack. This also works great.

However there's some additional limitiations that I'm trying to add to the system. An attack time limit and a basic building requirement, i.e. only allow valid opponents who haven't been attacked in the last 5 minutes or so, and only allow opponents who have a minimum number of buildings to attack. In order to track this data I have a simple json blob, combatInfo, stored in in the playerData for a given player. combatInfo has a lastAttackedTime property, and a buildingCount property that get updated when a player is attacked and when their buildings get modified.

This also all works fine.