question

Nikita Matusevich avatar image
Nikita Matusevich asked

Servers 2.0 vs Legacy Multiplayer

Dear developers, please explain what is the difference between Servers 2.0 and Legacy Multiplayer, except for more options in terms of choosing the capacity of the virtual machine? I am a developer on the Unreal Engine. Initially, I worked on Legacy Multiplayer, but for some reason I decided to switch to Servers 2.0. Not only that, I spent several days trying to figure out how to make Servers 2.0 work on UE (thanks to the person who posted the documentation with explanations of how to configure everything, BUT IT DOES NOT SOLVE ALL PROBLEMS! I can help with setting up the plugin for Unreal Engine), so I constantly stumble on seemingly simple things that worked perfectly on Legacy Multiplayer.

Maybe the 2.0 Servers as the ping is lower? Or pay less? Is there any significant reason to switch to Servers 2.0?
At the moment, I spent a day to figure out how to get the server to get the missing players. In Legacy Multiplayer, this was extremely easy to implement.
Also, as far as I understand, there is no verification of the ID of the player who logged on to the server. It sends its own ID, and the server just accepts it. In Legacy, the server also passed the player's ticket, which he could somehow protect himself (of course, this is not 100% protection, but it is better than nothing).
Also, I would like to note that the "Pub/Sub", which was announced a long time ago, is extremely lacking. I tried to write you an email, but I was refused to provide a beta version of this functionality.

Thank you so much for your excellent service, we liked it very much, but we are interested in the questions above.
P.S. I'm wildly sorry for my English, I'm not a native speaker.

apisunreal
1 comment
10 |1200

Up to 2 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 512.0 KiB each and 1.0 MiB total.

Nikita Matusevich avatar image Nikita Matusevich commented ·