question

Joshua Williams avatar image
Joshua Williams asked

(Unreal Blueprint) Help with json arrays and objects

I'm very new with using json and have been primarily referencing the api doc to cobble together what calls I should be using.

My question is how can I "break apart" json objects to get the information I'm trying to call?

The screenshot is a basic example of what I'm stuck on right now. (I know it deals with an array, but am hoping any help I get would lead into how to use the objects contained in the array.)

I have a project in which the player can create up to 3 characters under their title account. When the player logs in, I'd like the client to check if there are characters on the account and if not, load a character creation system. If there are characters present, then to assign the characterid and charactername values to individual buttons. I know this info is contained in the CharacterData result, but accessing it is the issue.

The above blueprint executes as intended and prints the "Data Loaded" string. But when I try to do anything else regarding the Result Characters or Response Data, neither the DataLoaded or DataFailed events fire.

I know similar questions have been posted and I've tried implementing some ideas from those threads but still nothing. Hoping someone can shed some light for me.

getusersbp.png (101.4 KiB)
1 comment
10 |1200

Up to 2 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 512.0 KiB each and 1.0 MiB total.

Joshua Williams avatar image Joshua Williams commented ·

Sorry, but I forgot to also add that there is a character on the account, with a characterid and unique name. So I know the issue isn't not having any characters to pull from.

0 Likes 0 ·

1 Answer

·
Turner avatar image
Turner answered

PlayFab's blueprints can be hard to learn because of the limited documentation. So, I made a little example Blueprint that I hope will be helpful to you.