question

tmichael avatar image
tmichael asked

UniRx and PlayFab

So, I found out about PlayFab from the GDC talk (http://gdcvault.com/play/1023486/) and in the talk ya'll talked about using UniRx with PlayFab... but unfortunately, the code supplied was incomplete and I'm having a hard time making it work.

I've been programming for a long time, but I'm new to C# and Rx so there's a lot I'm trying to learn at once with this... so forgive me if the answer is obvious.

In the talk, there's this code:

PlayFabClientAPI.LoginWithCustomID(
			request, 
			(e) => _EventStream(new LoginEvent(e)),
			(err) => _EventStream(new LoginEvent(err))
		);

But there's nothing about how to create the LoginEvent class... and I cannot figure out what the type of e and err is. Everything I've found seems to be implicitly typed and when I look at the source, the potential results appear to be a wide number of completely unique classes.

So... how in the world do I create a constructor for the LoginEvent class when I don't know what the type of the result is? Or what is it that I'm missing here?

Thanks!

At the PlayFab GDC talk(http://gdcvault.com/play/1023486/), ya'll discussed using UniRx with PlayFab. Unfortunately, the code displayed was incomplete as it didn't describe how to make the events.

I've been programming a long time, but there's a lot of new concepts being introduced to me with C# and UniRx, so forgive me if the answer is obvious.

I have a class that includes the code from the talk:

private Action<IPlayFabEvent> _EventStream = delegate {};

public IObservable<T> EventStream<T>() where T : IPlayFabEvent
	{
		return Observable.FromEvent<IPlayFabEvent>(
			h => _EventStream += h,
			h => _EventStream -= h
		).OfType<IPlayFabEvent,T>();
	}

and that compiles fine... but then when I get to the part that looks like this:

request, 
			(e) => _EventStream(new LoginEvent(e)),
			(err) => _EventStream(new LoginEvent(err))
		);