question

Siddhesh Narvekar avatar image
Siddhesh Narvekar asked

Playfab parallel to existing MySQL backend server,Playfab parallel to current MySQL backend

Hello there,
I am a product manager (not a technical) at a game studio.
Our game is live on play store and AppStore and its multiplayer game with Photon as a game server and Mysql as a backend. Currently, we are looking for liveops solution.
I was wondering if we could able to run Playfab parallel (read-only) to Mysql and use it (Playfab) as a liveops server but post data back to MySQL server.

So in short, Playfab will work to run live operations only but all the data will be stored to the existing Mysql server.

Please let me know your thoughts on this or suggest a better way to do it :)

Thanks

Hello there,
I am a product manager (not a technical) at a game studio.
Our game is live on play store and AppStore and its multiplayer game with Photon as a game server and Mysql as a backend.
I was wondering if we could able to run Playfab parallel (read-only) to Mysql and use it (Playfab) as a liveops server but post data back to MySQL server.

So in short, Playfab will work to run live operations only but all the data will be stored to the existing Mysql server.

Please let me know your thoughts on this or suggest better way to do it :)

Thanks

photondataCustom Game Servers
10 |1200

Up to 2 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 512.0 KiB each and 1.0 MiB total.

Citrus Yan avatar image
Citrus Yan answered

Hi @Siddhesh Narvekar,

So, what you need is the ability to perform Live Ops in PlayFab and then post associated data to the MySQL backend server, is that right? If that’s the case, can you access the MySQL server via a Web API? If you can do that, then it’s possible to perform Live Ops first and then make Webhook calls from Cloud Script to post the data back to the database server.