question

Josh Winter avatar image
Josh Winter asked

Shared Group Data or Leaderboard

Hello,

I'm new to PlayFab and I'm trying to see if it's going to fit our needs. Our game has weekly leaderboards in groups of 40 players. Each week the player moves up or down a leaderboard (or tier) depending on their ranking from the previous week. 

If there are enough players, it's conceivable that their could be many leaderboards of 1 tier, so the game could have hundreds of 40 player leaderboards which would need to get reset (or possibly deleted and created) each week.

What would be our best course of actions for this? Should I be looking at the leaderboards api? Or should I be diving in to the Shared Group Data to learn how to create groups, then add/remove players from a group?

Thanks!

10 |1200

Up to 2 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 512.0 KiB each and 1.0 MiB total.

brendan avatar image
brendan answered

The way leaderboards work in PlayFab is that you report on statistics for players, and those statistics are used to generate the leaderboards. All players are reflected in the leaderboards, though you can query for just friends. If you want to do a leaderboard-like system where you have only 40 (non-friends) per leaderboard, then yes, I would recommend having a look at Shared Group Data. But I wouldn't add players to it - adding players gives them read/write capability, so a hacked client could write whatever it wanted to. Instead, I would suggest writing to it from Cloud Script, so that you can do validation checks on the scores reported.

10 |1200

Up to 2 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 512.0 KiB each and 1.0 MiB total.

Josh Winter avatar image
Josh Winter answered

Thanks! I'll look into Shared Group Data and write some tests today and see how it goes. I'm excited to dive into this.

10 |1200

Josh Winter avatar image
Josh Winter answered

Hello,