question

MGGD avatar image
MGGD asked

Can GetUserData be replicated?

Hello,

I am new to multiplayer games, and was wondering if I have to make some precautions so the player cannot replicate important server responses.

For example, the user has a limited number of tickets, I use GetUserData to get them from the database. The question is: Can a user replicate the response (send their modified response as if it was sent by the server), so instead of receiving the few actual available tickets, the game receives 100 million tickets?

And what is the best way to prevent that (if needed)?

Thanks.

Player Data
10 |1200

Up to 2 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 512.0 KiB each and 1.0 MiB total.

JayZuo avatar image
JayZuo answered

I'm not sure what the tickets are used for, but you should verify and use it in your game server to prevent cheating. It would be something like user statistics, which should be updated by an authoritative server with Server APIs. You would do this either from a hosted game server or via Cloud Script. For example, you can check processPlayerMove function in the default Cloud Script. Players send raw data from the client with ExecuteCloudScript, and in the script, you can add any checks you need to help prevent cheating (checking maximum scores, time since last score reported, etc.). Custom game server would be similar. So that even the player faked the request or response, it won't affect your game as you always have the valid value in your server.

1 comment
10 |1200

Up to 2 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 512.0 KiB each and 1.0 MiB total.

brendan avatar image brendan commented ·

Please note though that the processPlayerMove example is for a turnbased game example. For realtime multiplayer games, you would need to use a custom game server (dedicated server), in order to have the higher rate of requests those games require.