question

bajunkinizer avatar image
bajunkinizer asked

New to PlayFab. How to use matchmaking?

Hello im new to playfab and relatively new to coding in general. Reading API docs is really overwhelming for me and I cant really grasp what it's trying to say. I feel like the docs are not really what looking for.

As a project for school, Im trying to build a simple web based app/program that allows a user to look for teammates(only) in any game. They will be matched according to the game they play, plus a few extra tags like similarities, rank, etc. I ran into playFab and it seems like it has this feature so I plan to use it as the backend.

The problem is , I dont really know what to do. Ive done my first 'successful api call' with the help of the tutorial but I cant find anything for the matchmaking feature.

Im using node js btw. Help is really appreciated.

apisMatchmaking
10 |1200

Up to 2 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 512.0 KiB each and 1.0 MiB total.

1 Answer

·
Seth Du avatar image
Seth Du answered

For matchmaking features, there are few methods to implement.

Matchmaking related APIs Playfab supports are Matchmaker APIs, which is used in custom server. Custom server is a legacy method we used to use, detailed tutorials are provide in Custom Game Servers. There is custom game server sample along with client project on the GitHub -- PlayFabGameServer, you can try to build your own version. If there is any issues with latest version, you can try to retrieve previous version in the commits history. There are few documentations about classic custom server, but PlayFab team will no longer support it soon.