question

redletterday avatar image
redletterday asked

Syncing Database Across Many Dedicated Servers

Hello.

I'm just getting started on a fairly large open-world project and am in the process of exploring different back-end development packages. I had a couple of questions regarding the Playfab service and if it is capable of accomplishing what I have in mind. I am currently working in Unreal and would prefer to stay there, however I'm not opposed to swapping over to Unity if it will make my life significantly easier.

The basic gist of the structure I am envisioning is a large amount of interconnected maps/levels, each hosted on an individual dedicated server running pretty much 24/7. Players can jump from one map to the next via defined portal points on each map. This much I have figured out how to accomplish in UE4 and have no problems with. What I am concerned with however is managing a database structure that will be synchronized across all of these servers. When players transfer servers the database needs to be able to preserve attributes, inventories, experience, basically everything and reload them upon new map entry.

Is this something that is currently possible with the Playfab service or wishful thinking on my part?

Thank you.

dataCustom Game Servers
10 |1200

Up to 2 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 512.0 KiB each and 1.0 MiB total.

1 Answer

·
brendan avatar image
brendan answered

For the scenario of one server making a few calls to update the player state, and then another reading that player state, that's easily supported, assuming the player isn't going to be jumping between these servers at a high rate (like every few seconds). The PlayFab data would effectively be your long-term storage of the player state, with the servers managing the high-speed frequent query work of talking with the player (periodically updating the PlayFab data, to keep it from getting too out-of-date).