question

Tahir avatar image
Tahir asked

[Unity] Masking client requests.

Hello,

Sorry for my potentially noobish question but a user of my game was able to easily send me this screenshot showing me that they can read all the data I am sending.

While I do have checks in cloudscript to validate incoming changes, is there anything I can do to possibly obfuscate/encypt/hide what I'm sending? Or do I have to manually encrypt/obfuscate?

I am new to this side of game development so sadly I'm not yet well versed to solve it, I have been searching. I'm aware this may not even be a playfab issue.

CloudScript
screenshot-1.png (37.4 KiB)
3 comments
10 |1200

Up to 2 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 512.0 KiB each and 1.0 MiB total.

akirachen avatar image akirachen commented ·

Hi, may I ask which API are you using?

And it looks like a Chrome browser debugger, how can he get data from that?

0 Likes 0 ·
Tahir avatar image Tahir akirachen commented ·

I may not have explained myself correctly. I'm just trying to find out if theres a way to mask the info from the debugger.

0 Likes 0 ·
Tahir avatar image Tahir akirachen commented ·

My research seems to point out that there's no point in masking it seeing as a malicious user could always access it. (hiding it from scriptkiddies would be good too though)

At the time of posting this, I was using UpdateUserData, now I am using ExecuteCloudScript so I can validate requests.

But a few questions:

Couldn't a user just modify these values to submit their own altered scores? While I do have checks in the cloudscript they arent 100% foolproof and with some tinkering, the allowed ranges would be found I think.

Am I doing things properly and this is just normal behaviour of PF to Unity?

Thanks in advance.

0 Likes 0 ·

1 Answer

·
Andy avatar image
Andy answered