question

unsymmetricalstudios avatar image
unsymmetricalstudios asked

Best Practices for in-game missions/contracts

I'm relatively new to Playfab, but I was hoping to get an idea of how to implement the following.

So in my game, the player can accept "missions"/contracts. The contracts have a list of prerequisites (e.g. minimum XP) before the player can accept them, and they have a list of requirements for completion (e.g. completing a task). After completion, the player is awarded with XP and free-tier currency.

Ideally, the player may only accept a limited number of contracts at any one time and only a subset of available contracts are displayed. (e.g. 20 contracts available, only 5 contracts shown)

I would also like to be able to have a set of randomly generated recurring missions,(possibly scaled by XP), a set of storyline missions, and a set of special event missions.

The mission aren't connected to particular "levels" or anything. It's just the prerequisites to accept, the requirements for completion, and the reward. They probably also have some metadata like the mission giver name, the description, etc.

What would be the best practice here?

Would a catalog be a good way to implement the mission? This would allow the dynamic updates but I'm not sure how I would randomly generate them (bundles linked to a table?).

Could I possibly use one catalog for the missions, the missions being containers, which are only opened upon mission completion?

Thanks in advance for any help!

10 |1200

Up to 2 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 512.0 KiB each and 1.0 MiB total.

1 Answer

·
brendan avatar image
brendan answered

I'm not clear on what, if any, elements of the Economy system you'd be leveraging. If it were me, I would implement this like so:

1. Store all the meta-data about missions is Title Data. Whether it's a set of missions or the data used to randomly generate them, that'll work fine.