question

mormert avatar image
mormert asked

How to login once and then stay logged in to Facebook?

Hello, I am making a iOS & Android game where I want players to be able to login to Facebook once, but I don't want them to have to enter login information every time they play the game. Like a "Remember Me" function, and I wonder how can I do that?

I am new to PlayFab.

What is best practise? Thanks.

10 |1200

Up to 2 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 512.0 KiB each and 1.0 MiB total.

brendan avatar image
brendan answered

Facebook does not provide an infinite-use delegate token, since that would be a serious security risk to their customers. When you sign into Facebook, you provide a token which has a lifespan (it should be an hour or two, but Facebook's doc state that they may change that at any time, so it's important to check responses to see whether you need to "refresh" the token). So whenever you sign the player in, you'll need to request a fresh token from Facebook.

10 |1200

Up to 2 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 512.0 KiB each and 1.0 MiB total.

mormert avatar image
mormert answered

Thanks for super fast anwser @Brendan :)

I am using Unity by the way and this is the code that I use when players start the game...

if(LoginWithFacebook == true)
{
    if (!FB.IsInitialized)
    {
        FB.Init(OnFacebookInitialized);
    }
    else
    {
        if (!FB.IsLoggedIn)
        {
            Debug.Log("FB already initialized, only logging in...");
            FB.LogInWithReadPermissions(null, OnFacebookLoggedIn);
        }
        else
        {
            Debug.Log("Attempted to login, but you are already logged in!");
        }
    }
}