question

entelicon avatar image
entelicon asked

Running a .bat file

I'm new to batch files, but if I told PlayFab to execute one when a server spins up, would it be able to?

If not, do you recommend any ways about how I can handle this?

10 |1200

Up to 2 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 512.0 KiB each and 1.0 MiB total.

1 Answer

·
brendan avatar image
brendan answered

There is no facility in PlayFab for running a batch file. Depending on what it is you're trying to do, you have a few options:

1. Since you mention "when a server spins up", I'm guessing you mean you'll be running dedicated servers (custom game servers) as part of your game . If so, you would simply use the Server API to make calls from the server to PlayFab, for the info you need.

2. You can run Cloud Script handlers via a Client or Server API call, or trigger them via a Rule in PlayStream, to execute lightweight server-authoritative logic that runs in your title.

3. You could set up Scheduled Task that runs some specific logic (also potentially a Cloud Script) either manually or on a regularly scheduled basis (hourly, daily, etc.).

2 comments
10 |1200

Up to 2 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 512.0 KiB each and 1.0 MiB total.

entelicon avatar image entelicon commented ·

Ah, I think my question was to vague.

I am talking about Custom game servers, but specifically instead of setting my path to gameserver.exe(or whatever it actually is), can I set it to serverlauncher.bat(again, just an example)?

So instead of running an exe I want to run a .bat.

0 Likes 0 ·
brendan avatar image brendan entelicon commented ·