question

Frank DiCola avatar image
Frank DiCola asked

Group/IsMember returns 401 Unauthorized (ErrorCode 1074)

Hey everyone! Sorry for asking this again - I know this question has been addressed here, but I looked through the questions and answers to no avail. I tried the suggested solutions but I'm still stuck. Here's my conundrum:

I'm implementing a "fastpass" way to join a Guild without requiring the usual Application & Acceptance process. This is something my users have requested. AddMember is working fine! I tested it and everything is working great so far.

But I noticed that AddMember will add someone to a PlayFab group even if they are already a Member, which is too bad. (Any way to prevent that?) For example, I was an Administrator of my testing group and when I called the function it added me to the Members role, so I had two roles.

So then I thought, what if I call IsMember first and prevent a double sign up? That's when I got this error:

Results of checking Membership:
 {
    code: 401,
    error: 'NotAuthenticated',
    errorCode: 1074,
    errorMessage: 'This API method does not allow anonymous callers.'
  }

Here's the code I'm using to call this. Trying to see if my Title Player Account is inside an existing Group:

const isMemberBody = {
             Entity: {
                 Id: "2A5E4AC524D8168D",
                 Type: "title_player_account"
             },
             Group: {
                 Id: "75128ABCBE270F34",
                 Type: "group"
             }
         };

// Create the Request Headers
         const isMemberHeaders = {
             'Content-Type': 'application/json',
             'X-EntityToken': "Hardcoded X-EntityToken goes here",
             'X-SecretKey': process.env.PLAYFAB_API_SECRET_KEY,
         };