question

luitelrubin avatar image
luitelrubin asked

Confused on when to use what api from client vs server.

So I started learning playfab recently and I found out that I can use azure functions to execute server side code. I see that I have access to different apis such as economy, server, data, events, etc... But if I were to get something basic like inventory directly from client side, I wouldn't want to go execute some azure functions using cloudscript, and instead use the client api from unity to get it. I know this is possible in economy v1, but is there a documentation on what api can be executed from client side(without providing the auth stuff, since unit is already configured with it) vs server side. Like it seems like I cant use economy api from client side the way I can use client api without passing any auth tokens since unit is already setup with playfab.

In-Game Economy
10 |1200

Up to 2 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 512.0 KiB each and 1.0 MiB total.

1 Answer

·
Xiao Zha avatar image
Xiao Zha answered

For client-side operations, you can use the PlayFab Client API. For server-side operations, you can use the PlayFab Server API. As for other APIs, such as PlayFab Data REST API | Microsoft Learn, Catalog - REST API (PlayFab Economy) | Microsoft Learn, PlayFab Events REST API | Microsoft Learn etc., most of them can be used both on client side and server side, it depends on which Entity(usually the title_player_account entity and the title entity) calls the API. However, it’s important to note that some APIs require authentication and can only be called from the server-side for security reasons. For example, certain operations such as add/ subtract virtual currency etc. or player data management might require server-side execution to prevent unauthorized access or manipulation.