question

Patches avatar image
Patches asked

Not receiving API receipts in C# using Microsoft Forms

Hi there, I am testing out PlayFab and wanted to learn by making a simple C# app using Microsoft Forms in Visual Studio. I followed the instructions from the C# console application tutorial, with a few modifications to use Forms and a GUI instead of command line.

For this test, I made a simple app using NuGet to install NewtonSoft.JSON and PlayFab.AllSDKs.

The form is very simple: there is one button to submit the login command and a textbox to populate with log messages in the GUI. There is also a textbox which is used to enter a custom userID for testing the function "PlayFabClientAPI.LoginWithCustomIDAsync(request);"

My issue is that although everything seems to work in regards to sending the API call out, the application never receives the asynchronous reply with the confirmation receipt. I am new to asynch requests in C#, so I haven't yet been able to figure out why these responses aren't coming. To prevent my application from hanging forever in the wait loop, I added a timeout counter of 25 seconds. Even with all this time, the application doesn't seem to receive the async reply.

I have pasted the two relevant .cs files below. My project.cs and my form.cs. If you are familiar with the C# Getting Started tutorial where you build a console app that calls the API, most of this code will be familiar to you.

This is the Form's cs file which calls functions in the program and updates the GUI

using System;
using System.Collections.Generic;
using System.ComponentModel;
using System.Data;
using System.Drawing;
using System.Linq;
using System.Text;
using System.Threading.Tasks;
using System.Windows.Forms;

namespace CSharpGettingStarted
{
    public partial class FormMainWindow : Form
    {
        public FormMainWindow()
        {
            InitializeComponent();
        }

private void FormMainWindow_Load(object sender, EventArgs e)
        {