question

Matt avatar image
Matt asked

Best Option for Simple Multiplayer

Hopefully I'm not beating a dead horse (too badly, at least), but this is definitely the first place I need to start to get my bearings on what to do next...

Let's assume my needs match the well established flow of Clash Royale:

1. Player chooses to enter a pvp match.
  2. They get matched up against an opponent based on level and trophies.
  3. They can send one of 8 different faces to taunt/communicate during the game.
  4. Based on their own progress, they can send an event to opponent that spawns enemies.
  5. Game ends and they can either rematch or talk smack and leave.

I don't need any syncing across games whatsoever. My needs are strictly 'event' based. I need matchmaking and some sort of turn-based support. As of right now my options seem to be:

a) Custom Game Server

b) Photon Matchmaking

c) Unity Multiplayer

d) Cloudscript / Shared Group Data

Frankly I'm new to this, so each of those options seems equally appealing to me. I can save on costs by going with a custom game server or Unity...I can save on time going with Photon. I can potentially save on both going with Unity...but I currently don't know which of these options, if any, satisfies my needs.

I appreciate any help - Thanks!

-Matt

10 |1200

Up to 2 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 512.0 KiB each and 1.0 MiB total.

1 Answer

·
brendan avatar image
brendan answered

In large part, it depends upon your security needs. Put another way, how much server authority do you want to have over the interactions?

a) Custom game server - Maximum control, since your server controls the state of the game session. You still need to check the inputs from the client to look for any cheating, but since all the logic is controlled by you, this is the way to go if you want to be highly secure.