question

alanmthomas avatar image
alanmthomas asked

Best approach for a newbie to PlayFab

Hello everyone.

I'm new to PlayFab and hoping to start getting it integrated into my project. I've gone through much of the documentation but have a few questions. I hope you don't mind. I am developing in Unity and have a solid understanding of C# and getting things working within that environment.

I'd like to have data stored both locally and on the cloud. If the player doesn't have an internet connection, then I'll use the local data. Once they have a connection again, I'd like to check the local data against the cloud data and use the most recent version (or give them an option, as games like FarmVille do, to select which data they would like to use).

Does the PlayFab API handle local data storage or would I need to handle this on my end? What would be the best recommended approach?

I appreciate any input that you might have.

Thanks,

Alan

10 |1200

Up to 2 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 512.0 KiB each and 1.0 MiB total.

1 Answer

·
1807605288 avatar image
1807605288 answered

PlayFab does not have a solution for resolving local data against cloud data. We only handle the Cloud side.

There are a number of features which simply can't work in "offline mode", such as virtual currency, inventory, purchasing, titleData, and others. About the only thing that could work is PlayerData, and/or Statistics (if you enable client-editing for the latter in the settings).

This also means that your game data is client-authoritative. Because of that, leaderboards become nearly useless (players will post max-int for their scores). Additionally, most multiplayer interaction becomes compromised.