question

abdulmunim2005 avatar image
abdulmunim2005 asked

NOOB's REQUEST

I am a beginner in game programming so, I was making my first game and at the end I started to implementing multiplayer with UNET then I finally after 2 weeks finished my server app and tested on a localhost and checked on a test game then to get it to my game I asked a question that can I upload my server app to get the ip address and port for the client to connect then got the answer affirmatively but I CAN'T FIND A SIMPLE TUTORIAL OR A VIDEO TO GET IT.I uploaded it to the builds section but man TOO many parameters that I do not even understand as a rookie,secondly The page I was told to look has outdated pictures Please it is a beginners request just get me a tutorial on youtube or direct instructions.

10 |1200

Up to 2 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 512.0 KiB each and 1.0 MiB total.

1 Answer

·
1807605288 avatar image
1807605288 answered

Custom Game Servers are not a "plug and play" feature, and it will take a great deal of time and effort to set one up correctly. Likewise, there's a time limit for the amount of free server time you get before you have to pay.

This is the current guide:

https://api.playfab.com/docs/tutorials/landing-tournaments/custom-game-servers

This is not a step-by-step guide for beginners, but instead an advanced guide which will help somebody already familiar with Game-Server architecture.

We have a demonstration project here:

https://github.com/PlayFab/PlayFabGameServer

This includes a "Chat" server, and a chat client. These projects collectively utilize the PlayFab custom game server feature.

Please note, this project is not designed to be a "real" chat server that works at any real scale. Most games utilize a different scaling mechanic that is incompatible with a true real-time chat system.

10 comments
10 |1200

Up to 2 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 512.0 KiB each and 1.0 MiB total.