question

tonnyadiyasa avatar image
tonnyadiyasa asked

Photon server and Cloudscript

Hello, I am planning to use Photon Cloud in the game I am working on.

I am very new to Playfab and Photon, and recently spending time to understand how both works, and the best implementation for what i am aiming for.

I've been using Client API Cloudscript call to modify player statistics such as win/lose and elo skill ratings.

So far it works, but I know its not safe to trust the client to modify these important statistics in a competitive game.

What is the best way to do it safely and easily?

I prefer not to write my own separate server sided software, and rely fully on Photon Cloud if possible? (Since I will be paying for it anyways)

Is this doable?

CloudScriptphoton
10 |1200

Up to 2 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 512.0 KiB each and 1.0 MiB total.

1 Answer

·
brendan avatar image
brendan answered

Yes, you can use Cloud Script for simple, server-authoritative logic, like checking the reported results from a client for cheating (before writing it to statistics). In fact, one of our users, Hamza Lazaar, posted a sample to his GitHub showing using Cloud Script with the Photon memory demo: https://community.playfab.com/questions/9573/memorydemocloudscript-question.html?childToView=10075#comment-10075.