question

tinyflow avatar image
tinyflow asked

Server-authoritative design in PlayFab ?

Hey,

im fairly new to BaaS and I wanted to ask how server-authoritative design works in PlayFab.

During my research i often read that it prevents people from cheating.

For example if i want to save a highscore in PlayFab, i would send the temporary value of a variable in a request.

Would this be server-authorative design ? If it is, how does does that prevent people from cheating ?

Also im confused of PlayFabs Economy providing security, since in a request you still need to send a local value/variable, which can be modified by the player?

I'd be really glad if someone can enlighten me.

Thanks in advance & best regards,TinyFloW
Player DataLeaderboards and StatisticsIn-Game Economy
10 |1200

Up to 2 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 512.0 KiB each and 1.0 MiB total.

1 Answer

·
Andy avatar image
Andy answered

The primary way in which we enable server-authoritative design (without you needing your own servers) is through cloud script. We allow you to heavily restrict the set of API calls your clients are allowed to make, but you can continue to allow them to call the ExecuteCloudScript API.

In the case of a stat update, for instance, your client would call a cloud script function you've written with a proposed update. Your function could then check the validity of the update. It could do bounds checking and update frequency checks. You could even call off to an Azure Function to do some additional processing or ML. If the checks succeed, then the cloud script writes the statistic on behalf of the player.

This same model works for economy, player data, and many other area in which you, otherwise, would open your game up to malicious actors.