question

k-krrs avatar image
k-krrs asked

Multiplayer with authoritative server hosted by PlayFab with Unity Networking

The documentation is very vague on this subject, and I'm an absolute beginner with networking. I don't know where to start with something like this. Basically what I need is to have a server which takes inputs, simulates a game and sends back transforms to all clients. How can I do this with PlayFab and Unity networking? I'm having a hard time figuring out how PlayFab and UNet will work together. What do I need to do, as in what needs to be included in the build on PlayFab, how to connect to it etc.?

Custom Game Serversdocumentation
10 |1200

Up to 2 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 512.0 KiB each and 1.0 MiB total.

Andy avatar image
Andy answered

<Posting a new answer as I was running against the character limit>

Great! I can't comment on exactly how it would work in Unity's Network Manager, but I can explain how the PlayFab side of things works. For now, I'm going to assume you're using PlayFab's server hosting and matchmaking.

When we determine that a new server instance needs to be started, we push your exe onto a VM and then start it via a command line. You have a lot of leeway in how you define this command line, but our example looks like this:

-game_id=<game_id>
-game_build_version=<game_build_version>
-game_mode=<game_mode>
-server_host_domain=<server_host_domain>
-server_host_port=<server_host_port>
-server_host_region=<server_host_region>
-playfab_api_endpoint=<playfab_api_endpoint>
-title_secret_key=<title_secret_key>
-custom_data=<custom_data>
-log_file_path=<log_file_path>
-output_files_directory_path=<output_files_directory_path>
-batchmode

Notice that we're telling you the host domain and port that you should start listening on. You'll need to figure out how to take those parameters and provide them to your networking layer.